How I decided psychology was for me

As I mentioned in my first blog post I am currently in my second year studying psychology. But there was a time where I did not even know what psychology was! But for those who are reading this and are not quite sure what I am on about, psychology is the scientific study of the mind and behaviour. Most of you probably associate psychology with shows such as the mentalist or CSI. But psychology is also used in advertising, in the workplace and even in schools!

I did not know about psychology until I was 16 years old and went to college where I decided to take it up as one of my four subject choices because a lot of people said it was easy (how wrong they were!). From my first lesson I was hooked! I found myself reading Psychology Today magazine every month and started to look at the world my analytically, asking myself why was someone behaving like that?, why is it that some people eat the same lunch everyday? etc. So when applying for university it was an easy decision to go and study psychology.

When going into university I never knew exactly what I wanted to be but this year I found my dream job. I have always loved the research side of psychology as you are essentially finding something out that no-one else knows, so when I did a 6 week placement with a researcher carrying out two of their research projects I LOVED IT. I quickly realised that this is what I want to do once I have graduated.

So that’s the story of my journey into psychology so far. Speak to you soon!

Leave a Reply

