5 Ways to get you assignment done (before the deadline)

edumacation

Being in education for over 16 years (god I feel old) has taught me a few tricks to get work in without any stress…sometimes. So here is my 5 tips that I use in order to get my work in on time:

1. Plan Ahead! 

Sounds cliché but it is true. Usually when I have been told my assignment title I work out a rough plan of my argument and how many words I want to write for each point including how many for the introduction and how many for my conclusion. After that I go onto step 2!

calendar

2. Dividing up the word count

For me the majority of my assignments are given to me a month in advance and they ask for 2000 words on the topic, plus because I LOVE being lazy, I tell myself, that I am only going to work on this piece 5 days a week for 4 weeks. So to work out how many words I need to write each day I use this formula:

Word count requirement ÷ Number of days you will do the work = Number of words each day

So for me that would look like 2000 ÷ 20 = 100 words each day. Which is not much!

3. Do it where you won’t be distracted

When I am at home, I am always tempted to go onto YouTube or grab some food. But when I am at the library I find that I am a lot more focused and a lot more driven to get the work done so I can get the hell out of there! Some people find it easier to listen to music to keep their attention on their work and personally, you need to find what works best for you.

distractions

4. If you still can’t focus

If you still can’t focus try using techniques such as using a finger labyrinth (see picture below), breaking your tasks into smaller chunks, and most importantly no multi-tasking! Seriously, please stop playing on your Nintendo DS and trying to write your essay at the same time, it wont work!

finger labyrinth

5. Take breaks

Your mind can only work for a certain amount of time before it becomes overloaded with information. So once you have done some of your work for 40 minutes or even an hour, get off the computer, grab a drink and rest a little bit before coming back. It helps your concentration as well as keeping you stress free!

Now I’m guessing you may be reading this as a procrastination so good job! But don’t worry, once you get the hang of actually doing work you will look as smug as this guy!

sips

Comment below with your tips and I will speak to you soon!

Leave a Reply

